Two host families needed in Cape Town

Dear Western Cape Scouting members and parents,

Madita’s year at the National and Western Cape office has come to an end. It has been a true privilege to have her with us and we are sure that she will be missed by all whom have met her.

We will however be welcoming Christian and Jana, two new German volunteers, to our office as from the 8th of August 2018. They are both 18 years old and are eager to get involved in SA Scouting, to discover Cape Town and to meet a lot of fantastic people. To find out more about them read their profiles below.

Two host families needed

Whilst volunteering for SCOUTS SA in Cape Town they will each need a home. Therefore, we are looking for two host families that can accommodate them for a time period of about 6 months. This time frame can be adjusted as needed. For example, if you feel you can offer them a home for longer, then that period can be extended, if you feel that 6 months is sufficient then we can find alternative accommodation for them. They will both be able to contribute towards basic costs.

If you can help, please email info@scouts.org.za as soon as possible with the subject line “a home for our volunteers”

Meet Jana

Hello! My name is Jana Lorenz, I’m 18 years old and I’m going to spend one year in your country. As you probably know I’ll work in the scout office based in Cape town. I loved the idea to do something which deals with the scouts in the year right after having finished school because I spend time with the scouts every week and so it’s something like part of me. In my free time I do Karate, I read a lot and I love it to draw. I also learned on my own to play the guitar but I’m not really good in it although I do it with pleasure.

My family and friends are really important to me. So, I’ll miss them in the year I’m not at my German home, especially my „little “sister (Sophie, 15 years old). But I think, that it is possible to have a lot of „homes “at the same time all over the world, because a home is, where you can find your friends and you can find new friends every day if you want to.

I’ve never been in Africa but it’s a big dream since I was a child. It will be interesting and much fun for me to get to know the country and the culture.  A few years ago, I spend three months in La Réunion where I lived with a family. I learned to speak French there and so I hope to improve my English-skills during the year I’ll live in Africa. (I’m sorry because of my English in this letter, I think that I have to learn a lot!) I’m really excited but also happy to get such a big chance of living and working in another country! It would be great, if you want to be my family and my new home during this year! Jana

Meet Christian

Hey! My name is Christian and I live in Germany and am 18 years old. I am going to spend a voluntary year at the Scouts Office of South Africa in Cape Town. In my free time I am really sport addicted, I play handball, do swimming competitions and finally I spend a lot of time with my friends. I really like the fact that I can combine group and individual activities in my free time. I never really get bored and need to do something new and I always need action. Meeting people and spending time with friends make me feel good and I would describe myself as a very friendly and funny person.

Two and a half years ago I went my first time to South Africa. I went there for a school exchange. During that time I got to know, how life is in South Africa. I really did enjoy the time with my host family. I like contact with people so it was easy for me to also have fun with my host brother’s friends. Family and friends are very important to me, they are there to have fun with, but moreover to give space for trust, love and room for joy.

I bring myself into voluntary work a lot, I lead the scout group lessons of the younger ones, committed myself a as student representative in school and work as a coast guard during holiday since a few years.

If you can offer one of these young volunteers a home in Cape Town for 6 months from the 8th of August please email info@scouts.org.za